UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

TECHNOLOGICAL ADVISORY COUNCIL MEETING

TUESDAY, MARCH 19, 2024

The advisory committee met in-person at the FCC (45 L Street NE, Washington, D.C. 20554) and via MS Teams video teleconference, at 10:00 AM Eastern time, Dean Brenner, Chair, presiding.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT:

First Name	Last Name	Company Representing	
Shahid	Ahmed	NTT Ltd	
Rob	Alderfer	Charter Communications, Inc.	
Mark	Bayliss	Visual Link Internet	
Donna	Bethea-Murphy	Viasat	
Dean	Brenner	TAC Chair	
Michael	Cataletto	Scientel Solutions, LLC	
Andy	Clegg	Wireless Innovation Forum	
Marty	Cooper	Dyna LLC	
Brian	Daly	AT&T	
Bill	Davenport	Cisco Systems, Inc.	
Skyler	Ditchfield	GeoLinks	
Adam	Drobot	Stealth Software Technologies, Inc.	
Peter	Gammel	Ubilite, Inc.	
Monisha	Ghosh	Wireless Institute, Notre Dame	
lain	Gillott	Wireless Infrastructure Association	
Manu	Gosain	Northeastern University	
Lisa	Guess	Ericsson	
Sachin	Gupta	National Rural Electric Cooperative Association	
David	Gurney	Motorola Solutions Inc.	
Jason	Jackson	Kyndryl	
David	Kaufman	Amazon (Alternate Member)	
Karri	Kuoppamaki	T-Mobile USA	
Tian	Lan	SGE (George Washington University)	
Greg	Lapin	ARRL	
Mike	Laskowsky	Rural Wireless Association	
Dan	Mansergh	Apple Inc.	
Brian	Markwalter	Consumer Technology Association	
Lynn	Merrill	NTCA - The Rural Broadband Association	

Amit	Mukhopadhyay	Nokia	
Jack	Nasielski	Qualcomm Incorporated	
Bridget	Neville	Sirius XM Radio Inc.	
Roger	Nichols	Keysight Technologies, Inc.	
Timothy	O'Shea	DeepSig Inc.	
Bejoy	Pankajakshan	Mavenir Systems, Inc.	
Jon	Peha	Metro 21, Smart Cities Institute	
Robert	Rainhart	HawkEye 360, Inc.	
Michael	Regan	Telecommunications Industry Association	
Tom	Sawanobori	CTIA	
Henning	Schulzrinne	SGE (Columbia University)	
Marvin	Sirbu	SGE (Carnegie Mellon University)	
Ardavan	Tehrani	Samsung	
Rikin	Thakker	NCTA - The Internet & Television Association	
Michelle	Thompson	Open Research Institute, Inc.	
David	Young	ATIS	

COMMISSION STAFF PRESENT:

First Name	Last Name	Title	
Jessica	Rosenworcel	FCC Chairwoman	
Ronald	Repasi	Chief, Office of Engineering and Technology	
Martin	Doczkat	Designated Federal Officer	
Sean	Yun	Deputy Designated Federal Officer	
Paula	Silberthau	Attorney Advisor, Office of General Counsel	

SUMMARY:

The advisory committee meeting began at 10:00 AM Eastern time, with welcome remarks from the Technological Advisory Council (TAC) Chair, Dean Brenner, who emphasized the importance of the TAC's focus on emerging technologies in terms of U.S. leadership role in technological advancement, and set the landscape for the recommendations provided by the TAC's three working groups (WGs): 6G, Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning, and Advanced Spectrum Sharing.

The TAC Chair's remarks were followed by welcome remarks from OET Chief Ronald Repasi, expressing his appreciation and importance of TAC's WG activities. The OET Chief's remarks were followed by welcoming remarks from the DFO Martin Doczkat and Deputy DFO Sean Yun, thanking TAC members for their commitment and participation on the new TAC charter cycle.

<u>Federal Advisory Committee Act Rules and Practices</u>: Paula Silberthau, attorney advisor of the OGC, reviewed FACA rules and ethics requirements: timely meeting PN, public attendance, document availability, continuing ethics obligations, roles of the committee chair and vice chair, duties of

designated federal officer, FACA record keeping, informal working groups or subcommittees, ex parte rules, other practical issues, and changes in member's job requiring notice to FCC staff.

The FCC Chairwoman Rosenworcel's remarks focused on several key areas of technological innovation and policy, acknowledging TAC's important contributions on leading 6G and seeking examples of Al benefits from TAC working groups. The Chairwoman also stated policymakers should be better informed and be more thoughtful on how spectrum is allocated, and that the FCC is open to good ideas and opportunities in optimizing spectrum utilizing, hence, participation of the commercial sector is critical in forming the advanced spectrum sharing working group for the TAC.

<u>Advanced Spectrum Sharing</u>: the WG Chairs Andrew Clegg and Monisha Ghosh announced the first meeting schedule of Tuesday from 3-4 PM ET, March 26. The Chairs introduced the WG's charters seeking members' participation noting the latest references that has transpired this WG: National Spectrum Strategy, Implementation Plan, WRC-23, 6 GHz sharing, etc.

<u>Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning (AI/ML)</u>: the WG Chairs Lisa Guess and Adam Drobot introduced the meeting schedule and reviewed the AI/ML WG charters seeking participants. The WG's first meeting is scheduled for 3-4 pm ET, Wednesday, April 3.

<u>6G</u>: the WG Chairs Brian Daly and Manu Gosain reviewed highlights on 6G's framework development status and related activities by WRC-23, 3GPP, ATIS, etc. The Chairs introduced of the 6G charters with a meeting schedule of Thursday 4-5 pm ET starting April 4, occurring every other week thereafter initially.

The advisory committee meeting adjourned at 12:04 PM Eastern time.

Meeting Presentation Slides:

https://www.fcc.gov/sites/default/files/FCC%20TAC%20Meeting%20Slides%20-%2003-19-2024.pdf

Video Link: https://www.fcc.gov/news-events/events/2024/03/technological-advisory-council-meeting-march-19-2024-0

AGENDA:

10 am – 10:30 am	Introduction and Opening Remarks	
10:30 am – 11:15 am	Federal Advisory Committee Act Overview	
11:15 am – 11:45 pm	Advanced Spectrum Sharing WG Presentation	
11:45 pm – 12:15 pm	AI/ML WG Presentation	
12:15 pm – 1:45 pm	6G WG Presentation	
12:45 pm – 1:00 pm	Closing Remarks	
1:00 pm	Adjourned	

SIGNED, COMMITTEE CHAIR	
Dean Brenner	Date